Slide01Eastern Visayas or Region VIII is composed of three main islands, Biliran, Leyte and Samar, connected by the famous San Juanico Bridge. It consists of six provinces (Biliran, Samar, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar, Leyte, and Southern Leyte) and seven cities (Ormoc City, Baybay City, Maasin City, Calbayog City, Catbalogan City, Borongan City, and the regional center - Tacloban City). Region VIII lies on the east central part of the Philippine archipelago, directly facing the Pacific Ocean.